Click to skip to site content
John Cage: There Never Will Be Silence Record Album

John Cage: There Never Will Be Silence Record Album

$150.00    Member Price: $135.00

Organized by David Platzker, Curator, Department of Drawings and Prints, MoMA, and Jenny Schlenzka, Associate Curator, MoMA PS1.

There Will Never Be Silence pays homage to both John Cage and the MoMA exhibition There Will Never Be Silence: Scoring John Cage's 4'33" (2013–14).

In a 1954 letter that Cage wrote regarding his so-called "silent piece" 4'33" (1952), he stated, "the piece is not actually silent (there will never be silence…)." Sixty years after Cage's letter, the debut album for the exhibition, reconsiders silence, the lack of silence and the status of recorded sound. The double LP features four compositions presented by artists Kevin Beasley, Lizzi Bougatsos, Sabisha Friedberg and Yasunao Tone. Their works shed light on how far Cage's ideas about sound have progressed in diverging directions.

  • MoMA/MoMA PS1, 2015
  • 12 x 12 inches
  • Edition of 500
  • Sold out at MOMA
  • Each cover has unique scratch marks

Related Products